2017 Favorites

It’s pretty hard to narrow it down, isn’t it? How do you choose?

Do you pick your firsts? Like the first time I was able to catch a rough-legged hawk in flight? Or the first time I was able to sneak up on a male Downy Woodpecker. I must have watched him for ten minutes before he noticed me. I was so close I felt like I could reach out and touch him. In both of these instances, I came home with a smile on my face.

Or how about the Osteospermums I purchased because I thought they would make great photographs. I took these shots just after a rain.

And I can’t forget the chance encounters with wildlife that had me frozen in awe. I didn’t want to move an inch in either of these cases. I didn’t want to spoil the moment.

And perhaps my ultimate favourite – the pair of Loons that curiously swam around us as we waited to load our boat. It was the first time I ever related to a pair of birds – their little one snug on their back, half dozing off just like my daughter was the day before.

Yes, it was a little hard to choose my favourites this year. It turns out that some of these favourites were also my best.

For the Weekly Photo Challenge: Favourites

and Paula’s Thursday Special: Your best

17 thoughts on “2017 Favorites

Leave a comment